Supplements to help Aid Diets.

 

Are supplements vital to diets? …. No, its not Vital. But it can  aid in any diet by reducing some of the natural effects your body can change on you when you are on a diet.

When taking supplements, make sure you ask these questions first before purchasing.

  • What are your reasons into taking it?
  • What does it do?
  • What are the benefits towards your diet?
  • Do you know the ingredients?
  • Have you read the reviews on the brand of the product?

Here are some supplements that I take and why I take them and how are they effect towards my body.

  1. Omega 3 Fish oil capsules

Omega 3 can naturally be consumed within our diet in the likes of salmon, flaxseeds and walnuts etc. Although not everyone  will consume these kinds of foods but instead, the likes of Meat and others which are high in Omega 6’s.

A healthy diet contains a balance of omega 3 and omega 6 fatty acids. Omega-3 fatty acids help reduce inflammation, and some omega 6 fatty acids tend to promote inflammation.

Even though some Omega 6 fatty acids tend to promote inflammation. It doesn’t mean to be entirely bad for the body. It can still be benefitted to our bodies. But the main goal here is to keep a balanced diet of Omega 3 and Omega 6.

I could go on and on about how Omega 3 works in the body. But this is the main reason as to why I take them. I Know myself that I don’t eat enough foods that are naturally enriched so I balance my omegas at the end of the day with some fish oil capsules. It helps me from promoting inflammation in my body, which I don’t need when I am on a Competition Prep.

*TIP* Some Fish oils are made from crustacean shells. So if you are allergic to shellfish, I would look into the ingredients first before you purchase it and make sure for your own health and safety.

2. Zma’S

Zma supplements are mostly supported by minerals like Zinc, Magnesium and Vitamin B6. They are created for the  ability to improve the quality of sleep. Which is extremely important if you are aiming to build some muscle..

During sleep, your body repairs the damage done to muscle fibers in the gym. When these slightly torn fibers are repaired, you naturally get stronger, gain more lean mass and also a very good nights sleep.

*TIP* Should contain 30 milligrams of zinc, 400-450 milligrams of magnesium and 11 milligrams of vitamin B6. This supplement is best taken before bedtime and on an empty stomach.

3. Dandelion root (Tea, Extract, Capsule)

Dandelion is used in a lot of herbal medicines. Mostly used to aid in digestion, inflammation.

For me, It is only used for around the time of my menstrual cycle. As I become very congested and Bloated from inflammation. Water rentention is high for many ladies, at that time of month. So we can benefit from this supplement.

*TIP* Great for using on your peak week, especially if you are expecting your cycle through your show.

4. Protein shakes

Protein Shakes are more for people who cant get enough protein intake from their foods. Where you can turn to Protein Shakes to get that intake. Especially when you are  bulking.

First thing you should ask yourself before you decide about  purchasing Protein shakes.

‘Are you getting enough protein intake in your diet to substantially help you grow muscles from eating?’

An average amount is around 1-1.2g of protein per Ibs that you weigh.

There are many more in which you can add to your supplement stash. Eg BCCA’s, Creatine etc. It entirely depends on your body, and do you need it. I’ve used the likes of these before and have never seen much difference with them, so therefore I decide not to waste my time and money with it, as it can be extremely expensive buying all these supplements.

Check out my link below from Youtube. You can see what supplements I use and from what brands.

Also the big question I get asked : Should you have protein shakes just to lose weight.?

supplements to aid a diet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

